Love You More

God speaks my love language. Over the past month we’ve had a sweet exchange of affirming words, but what He did today blew me away. It started about a month ago. As is my habit, I was talking out loud with the Lord, telling Him what was heavy on my heart. It went something like this…

“Abba Papa, You told me to bring every need and every concern to You. You’ve also reminded me that I sometimes don’t have the things I want because I haven’t ask You for them. My life is so full of so many miraculous blessings, but there are times when I dream of building a home with someone special. I would love to serve alongside someone who loves serving You.

But, Lord, I love You more. More than I want those things, I want You. I’m going to continue to seek You first. In Your time and Your way, I know You will bring Your best into my life.”

Conversations like this continued for the next couple of weeks, with the main thought of “Love You More” settling the discussion and flooding me with peace.

A few weeks ago, I was in a Passion Drama about the last days of Christ’s life on earth. Watching in the wings offstage during the Garden of Gethsemane scene, I was brought to tears. Our Lord experienced such anguish and dread knowing what He had to face in the next hours of His life. While watching this scene, I heard a clear internal whisper, “Michelle, I love you more.”

He faced the beatings, the mocking, the cross, the separation, all because He loved me more than wanting His own way. For the next week, those words kept me company. Again, filling me with a beautiful peace and joy.

This morning I was having one of those heavy days – a bit of angst and struggling. I asked the Lord if I could hear from Him in a special way. I spent time with Him in the Word, in prayer, and in journaling. It was a sweet time, but my heart was still struggling.

I stopped by the Victory Home thrift store to pick up something for a friend. While there I wandered around a bit. A little black and white sign caught my eye. When I picked it up, it read, “Love you more.” That was my sign!

God speaks my love language. He knew I needed an affirming word this morning. He even put it in writing so I would hear it loud and clear.

Leave a comment